The 15th Passion for Speed at Zwartkops Raceway - 2016

The 15th Passion for Speed at Zwartkops Raceway – 2016

Photographs from The 15th Passion for Speed – 2016 event held at Zwartkops Raceway on 30 January 2016.

no images were found

Racing at Big Z a feast

Paolo Cavalieri
HEAVY METAL. Paolo Cavalieri (Ford Galaxie) and Hennie Groenewald (Plymouth Fury) fight for the lead in Saturday’s opening race for Pre-1966 Production Cars.


Rui Campos
FIRST WIN. Rui Campos took his newly-acquired Lola T70 Spyder to its first race win in Saturday’s Castrol event for Pre-1966 Le Mans Sports Cars.

-> More than 300 cars took to the tarmac in massive display of oldtime excellence.

This year’s South African circuit racing season kicked off spectacularly at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday, when the 14th consecutive international Passion For Speed raceday saw more than 300
competitors take to the tarmac. They performed in front of a huge crowd, many of whom camped next to the circuit

The biggest crowd drawcard were two races for SKF Pre-1966 Production Cars, with Sarel van der Merwe on pole position in the TAR Ford Galaxie. He took the lead at the start, but the car’s flywheel broke four
laps in, and it ground to a halt. That left Paolo Cavalieri (Pablo Clark Ford Galaxie) to win, narrowly ahead of Hennie Groenewald (SP Plymouth Fury), Jonathan du Toit (Chev Nova), Roy Prando (Alfa GTA), MJ Maerien (Exclusive Ford Fairlane) and Jeff Kruger (Chevelle). Van der Merwe took over Jonathan du Toit’s Chev Nova in Race two, but he found the car’s cockpit cramped, and battled to stay with the leaders. Hennie Groenewald led for six laps, but then the Plymouth’s engine cried ‘enough’. Paolo Cavalierie was happy to take over the lead and win again in his Galaxie, this time leading home a brilliant Jeff Kruger (Chevelle) Roy Prando (Alfa GTA), Van der Merwe, Mark du Toit (Chev Biscayne) and Alan Poulter (Volvo 122F).

Officially, the day’s main event was the single, 45-minute Castrol race for Pre-1966 Le Mans Sports and GT Cars. Jonathan du Toit led from the start in his TAR Lola T70 Spyder, closely challenged by the Daytona Coupe of Michael Briggs, but that scenario soon changed. Du Toit ran the Lola over a kerb at high speed and the chassis broke, while Briggs blew the engine of his Daytona. Sports car veteran Rui Campos then took his newly acquired Lola T70 Spyder to the car’s first local victory, leading home Ross Lazarus (Shelby Cobra), Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Cobra), Jan Kling (Ford GT40), Mark Lauth (Lola Mk111), Michiel Campagne (Chev Corvette) and Craig Shorter (Ford GT40).

Willie Hepburn (Chev Camaro) won the opening race for Champion of Champions Legends Cars. He finished ahead of Michiel Campagne (Corvette), Hennie Groenewald (Mercury Comet), Michael Briggs (Chev Camaro) and Thomas Falkiner (Ford Mustang). Campagne won race two from Groenewald, Franco Scribante (Remos Ford Mustang), Hepburn and Falkiner.

Trevor Tuck (Pharmashop Alfa Giulietta) won the first race for Pre-66 Little Giants, ahead of Denzil Bhana (Ford Anglia), Shaun Cabrita (Mini Marcos) and Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type). Chad ten Doeshate (GSM Dart) won race two from Tuck, Andy Gossman (Datsun) and Chris Meyers Ford TVR Vixen).

Colin Ellison (ATE Brakes Chevron B19), and Franco Scribante (Remos Chevron B19) took turns to win the races for Pre-1974 Sport Prototypes respectively. Colin Clay (Genie Lola T70) and Dirk Waaijenberg (Chevron B19) took turns in the final podium places.

Alan Baillie (Brabham BT21) won both the races for Historic Single Seaters. The first time out, he was followed by Ben van der Westhuizen (Royale RP21) and Patrick Dunseith (Merlyn), while Paul Schultz (Royale RP24) and Chris Clarke (Titan Mk 4) took the runner-up spots the next time out.

Jaki Scheckter (Ferrari F430) won the opening race for G&H Transport Extreme Supercars. He led home Jonathan du Toit (Ferrari F430), Oliver Dalais (Ford GT1) and Tato Carello (BMW M3). Early leader Charl Arrangies hit a spot of oil coming off the table Top and gyrated his Dodge Viper V10 violently, being closely missed by many following cars. Arrangies made no mistakes the second time around and won the race from Du Toit, Dalais and Carello, while earlier winner Jaki Scheckter dropped back after a spin.

Edited by André de Kock –


The 13th Passion for Speed – Zwartkops Raceway – 2014

Photographs from The 13th Passion for Speed race meeting at Zwartkops Raceway on 1 February 2014.

no images were found